What’s the Point?

Hello, bloggers!

I know, it’s been a long time since I came around (and this cover by Savannah Outen is pretty awesome).

But after reading things such as GOMI, blogger’s reaction to it (use your imagionation) and Hollaback Health blog, I thought it was time for me to say something.

No, I’m not here to judge other bloggers and point out faces and hiperlinks, but I’m definitely here to say a little something about what’s the point of blogging in the first place.

The “reasons why I blog” might and should be different from person to person, but thinking about mine has inspired me to continue to blog instead of giving it up altogether (because, in spite of what’s happened, I have definitely considered it).

Reasons why I blogged vs Reasons why I blog

1 – At first, my clear objective was to practice/improve my writing skills (in English). As you probably know (and, if you don’t… there’s always the About Me and the Why Fro-Yo Lover? tabs so you can get to know me a little bit better), I’m originally from Brazil, and I’ve lived here my whole life. Which means that I had to study in order to be here today. With that said, you should know I’m not complaining – working my butt off to learn more and more everyday has not only payed off my also it changed my life (more on that later). And blogging was surely an amazing outlet, and it this is still one of the main reasons why I blog.

2 – Also, I wanted to be able to say what I truly thought instead of just having fights with my Mom and acting like a victim about it. Yes, believe it or not, one of the reasons why I started blogging was because I wanted to tell my Mom things I wasn’t able say out loud. Not offensive/ugly things… Just my thoughts and points of view (especially regarding my eating disorder. I’m not putting a link here, but you can look for it if you want), since for some reason she misunderstood me every single time. I realize now it wasn’t entirely her fault – I obviously wasn’t making things any easier by slamming doors and refusing to talk about certain “touch-y to me” subjects. But, all in all, it was one of the reasons why I thought I should start blogging. I’m perfecly aware that my Mom doesn’t read this blog, but I like to think of this as a way of sharing my thoughts and opinions – so this is also still one of the reasons why I blog.

3 – What also made me want to blog was the fact that I had an eating disorder but I wasn’t quite convinced that there was something wrong with me. And, not to say it wasn’t also my fault, but I have certainly been to one too many crazy “professionals” that, instead of helping me out, made things a thousand times harder. I had to put up not only with my own mind-controlling issues, but with the doubts in my head, too (what would you think if you were a bones-and-flesh-only 12 year old girl and a so-called doctor told you there was absolutely nothing wrong with living off 700 calories a day? That eating pizza and anything with “too many carbs” was dealthly and fatty-ing? And these weren’t even the “best one’s” I’ve heard out there…). Needless to say, this isn’t one of the reasons why I blog (thank God most of this hell is over!). However, I think it is truly important to hold people accountable of the traps hidden out there. I want to help people who are going through what I’ve been through – not with my knowlegde (don’t worry, I realize that I’m only 16 and that I have no degrees or anything to prove what I say here is foolproof) but with my experience. And I believe that, after almost 5 years of dealing with an ED, I have at least a bit of “wisdom” to share on the topic.

4 – Last but not least, a reason why I blog today that wasn’t a reason why I blogged almost two years ago: because I want to be able to handle criticism. I’m not sure if I ever shared this in my blog before, but I’m seriously planning on majoring in Journalism – and I definitely don’t expect to see everyone complimenting me on everything I do, all the time. Like in every other job or career, I expect criticism. Plus, I’m one of those people who have the “if you want it, you gotta work for it and give it your best shot” mind. This is something that I truly want, right? So I have to be prepared to deal with what comes with my decision – both the good and the bad. And I do want to be prepared to face criticism as a grown up when the time comes –  why shouldn’t I start it now?

So, there you go – four reasons why I won’t stop blogging any time soon. I’m glad I finally wrote this down. I think it is of utmost importance that we know the reasons behind decisions before starting to have those “why am I doing this, again?” moments.

So, what what do you think? What’s one of the reasons why you blogged (and why you keep blogging?)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “What’s the Point?

  1. First off I like your new header!
    Great post. My reasons for blogging were because I was still struggling with overcoming my ED, and I loved the support/advice from other bloggers. It’s helped me stay on track.

  2. I love the header as well :) And I am so so happy to see you blog again :)

    I started blogging for many of the same reasons you did, mainly regarding my ED. But I too think it is a very useful tool in being able to handle criticism as well :)

    Have a great day!

    Scott

Leave a Reply

