Food Photoshoot + Brigadeiro Tutorial

Hello, puppets!

🙂

How was your weekend?

Mine was pretty good. Hehe. Let´s see…

On Friday, I had this party to go to. I was excited! Check out my dress:

DSCF2062

Cute, huh?!

Anyway. I decided to have dinner at home, because I knew I wouldn´t eat there… I know me.

Then, I did a complete food-photoshoot! It was F-U-N!

First, I decided to experiment:

DSCF2068

Cinnamon Raisin Swirl vs. Smooth Operator!

DSCF2092

Which one do y´all think is the best sweet potato topping?

I decided to give it a try…

DSCF2079

A little sample of each…

DSCF2080

With a sweet potato bite!

DSCF2084

Both of them were flavourful… But Smooth Operator was the WINNER!

Holy. Moly.

It tasted oh-so-good!

But I knew I should eat something else besides the baked sweet ´tater, so…

DSCF2082

My yellow friend showed up!

DSCF2085

I finished my baked sweet friend while a sprinkle of oregano, and…

DSCF2087

Made a banana hammock!

Katie, my friend, I´m getting addicted.

1 tbsp of Smooth Operator+ a banana = LOVE!

DSCF2089

Oh-So-Cute…

DSCF2090

And did you see the princess-y themed plate? It´s my sister´s!

😀

I have no words to describe Friday´s dinner, exept maybe for TERRIFIC. Haha.

The party was great, btw 😉

I spent the rest of the weekend at my father´s house – nothing too exciting. But I managed to have some nice chats with my 20-year-old cousin, my grandma and her sister – which was pretty awesome.

I woke up around 1 pm on Saturday, so I kinda “skipped” breakfast so I could have lunch with the fam. Hehe.

DSC02478

Steamed veggies, pumpkin purée and a piece of cooked chicken breast

I made dinner:

DSC02522

Steamed veggies, 1 piece of cooked chicken and a baked sweet potato

And had dessert!

DSC02525

Small pear

Today, I woke up around 10 am so I could study a bit.

DSC02526

1 container of non-fat plain yogurt with 1 crumbled granola bar.

Biggest. Bowl. Ever.

I had lunch with grandma:

DSC02528

Steamed veggies, cooked cassava (YUM!), piece of cooked chicken and a tiny slice of lasagna

And dinner with John (my 20-year-old cousin)

DSC02530 

Cooked chicken breast, a slice of lasagna, cooked cauliflower and cassava

I love love love cassava!

😀

Anyhow – I bet you´re wondering about this post´s title!

Yes – I made a brigadeiro tutorial for you guys!

Brigadeiros in Brazil are almost as important as the cake in a party. They´re made with condesed milk, chocolate milk powder and butter. And they´re part of tradition!

The ingredients:

DSC02482

Chocolate Milk Powder, 2 cans of condensed milk and regular butter.

(These are the directions for a pretty big portion – if you want a small treat for only a few people, cut everything in half!)

DSC02484

1- Throw the condensed milk in a saucepan.

DSC02487

2- Pour about 8 tbsp of chocolate milk powder (or cocoa) – 4 spoons for each can

DSC02488

3- Pour about a tbsp of butter

DSC02490

4- Bring the all the ingredients (un-mixed) to high heat

DSC02491

5- Begin stirring

DSC02492

DSC02493

DSC02494

DSC02496

DSC02498

DSC02500

6- Lower the heat and continue stirring…

DSC02508

…until it´s thick.

DSC02511 

7- Turn off the heat and let it cool down for about 15 minutes

DSC02512

8- Pour the mixture in a bowl (or any containers you want)

DSC02515

9- Ta-da! Just grab a spoon and eat! Or maybe wait a few minutes so you won´t burn your tongue 😉

DSC02517

And, by the way – licking the pan is always encouraged!

DSC02514 

😀

Have a great week, guys!

Let me know if you tried this recipe!

😉

XOXO

G.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Food Photoshoot + Brigadeiro Tutorial

  1. Brigadeiros looks delicious! I wish you could send me some of it!

  2. I need to make that brigadeiro recipe soon! My cousin makes something with similar ingredients, but it's got a chewy texture and she rolls it into balls. Have you made those? Great post, girl!

  3. Such a cute dress! And I love Peanut Butter & Co.

  4. The brigadeiros sounds amazing! My boyfriend's Mom grew up in Brazil, I'll have to make some for her and see if she remembers it!

  5. Brigadeiro sounds SOO GOOD!! So chocolatey 🙂 Glad you had fun at the party, your dress is so cute!!

  6. Oh that Brigadeiros looks divine. Anything with chocolate and I'm completely sold. Then again, bananas and sweet potato with nut butters are way up there on my list of favorites as well.

    Your dress is adorable. Lots of hugs to you ❤

  7. Brigadeiro looks so good! Thank you for the tutorial, Gabriela!

  8. Your party dress is SO cute.

    And I think I'd vote for Smooth Operator too. Mmm, yummmm!

  9. Chocolate…YUM!!!
    Adorable dress!!
    I love love love PB & Co., every single flavor. It's sad, I've tried them all!!!
    Much love dear!

  10. I've always kind of ignored the smooth operator because the other flavours sound so much more exciting… but I might just have to pick some up next time and give it a try!

    That brigadeiros stuff sounds SO dangerous… I'd probably end up eating the whole batch! I really have to try it one day

  11. Brigadeiros? Never heard of it, but I'm sure I would absolutely love! Thanks for sharing the tutorial! Love your blog…& cute dress!

  12. that looks so ridiculously amazing!!! 🙂

  13. so cool you shared this with us (I am the US)

    when I can have sugars again(self imposed ban) I will try it!

    and your DRESS is super cute!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

