One Week To Go

Hey, people!

Before I begin, let me just say there’s only 7 DAYS (a week) until my 16th birthday!

Yay or Nay?

I was really excited at first, but then… I panicked. I mean, I didn’t know what to do. My 15th birthday pretty much sucked, and my lunch with friends/dinner with family were both terrible. Mainly because all I could think about was food and calories. I don’t remember a thing about my friends, our conversations, presents I’ve won (I didn’t win too many, to be honest… about 2 or 3 gifts from a few family members), the “Happy Birthday To You” song (I was much more worried about the cake I wouldn’t eat – I decided I didn’t want a cake, but then Grandpa’s wife bought me a cupcake/mini-pie so we could sing the song. I was SO pissed), etc.

Like… really?!

It was my birthday, all my loved ones were present, and all I could think about was how much weight would I gain after that day?! C’mon. How FREAKIN’ STUPID is that?!

To make a long story short, you can probably tell I want my 16th birthday to be awesome (and way much better then my 15th). But… what to do?!

I’ve been considering dinners, lunches, even parties (a no-go)…

I really wish we had the money to throw a party. The last party I’ve had was at my… 9th birthday? Or something like that. But my place is pretty small (considering the bunch of people/kids who live in it… and the fact that it is an appartment), and the family members who live near me have small appartments too. So… yeah. A no-go.

I might just have dinner with my family on February 9th (my day!) and… figure out something to do with my friends on the weekend.

Okay, enough rambling… but wish me luck, guys!

Onto another subject. A recovery update.

I’ve been doing pretty well, really… it’s just that I’ve been having lots of disordered thoughts lately. Feeling fat (ok, so fat is not a feeling… but you know what I mean), bloated, heavy, ugly…

But I’ve been ignoring ED’s voice. So far, so great. I haven’t restricted much… and I will not allow myself to do so. Relapsing right now would not be a smart idea… At all.

So my February goal is to STOP THE FAT TALK.

From Eden’s post on ED’s anger and many more, I came to the conclusion I don’t want to be “that girl” anymore. I want to be ED-free as fast as possible. So slipping IS NOT AN OPTION. I’m decided to face my fears and issues and take a stand.

Because I CAN do it. Anybody can. It’s just a matter of will. Recovery means nothing if you’re not willing to recover. And, believe me – I am.

By the way – I recently found this song in someone’s blog and just fell in love with the lyrics (even though the music video’s a bit hard to watch). So, if you’re like me and doesn’t curse, I’d say try singing “freaking perfect” instead 😉

Blogworld has encouraged me so much. I’m honest when I say – thank you, everyone. For the comments, posts and support. Seriously – I wouldn’t be here without you guys! You guys definitely rock 🙂

Oh, and on a brighter note: I went to the beach today with Mom and Lelê! It was actually really fun. Here’s a few pictures:

DSCF6825

DSCF6866

DSCF6872

Oh, and before I forget – here’s another tag (again, written a few months ago)!

1.What is your favorite article of clothing?
2. What is your dream vacation?
3. Have you ever danced in the rain?
4. If you could design your own dream house, what would it look like? big and spacious, small and cozy, condo, etc..
5. If you won the lottery would you quit your job and move to Tahiti?
6. If you could only drink one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be?
7. What would you name your first born son or daughter?

1- Probably shoes and coats (sweaters, hoodies… I like them all 🙂 )

2- A tour through Europe – specially France and England. And maybe a little stop by the U.S. on my way back 😉

3- Not really… No, I don’t think so. I wish I had, though.

4- I’d probably live in a condo in a vibrant neighborhood – with nice restaurants, all kids of shops, malls, bookstores, libraries… And maybe near college, in the future 🙂

5- Probably not. I’d keep on working – I hate the idea of being useless, haha.

6- It would be… fresh unsweetned OJ. I absolutely LOVE it!

7- That´s a good one. I changed my mind thousands of times, but when I was little, I really liked the name “Samantha” [edited to add: I’m in love with the name “Alice” right now. Just so you know, haha]. And, for a boy… I always liked the name “Harry”. (Yep. Harry Potter fan right here!)

Have a great week, loves – the countdown is ON!

XOXO,

G.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “One Week To Go

  1. Liz

    Love your goal for February – you are so strong girl, keep fighting! I know that you can do it.

    As for my sixteenth, I just had a quiet dinner/presents with my family. Not to say that you shouldn't go all out, but sometimes a big party brings lots of drama. Happy early birthday, and have a great one, whatever way you decide to celebrate! =)

  2. So glad you're still going strong. And you look so unbelievably genuinely happy.
    One thing about your birthday, though. I realize you're steaming along on the recovery train, but you might consider trying to find something besides a dinner. The old fears might spring up and the last thing I want is for you to have another less than stellar birthday.
    Maybe I'm being a naysayer or unsupportive, but I just don't want you to have to every momentarily worry about something like that on your day.
    I hope you don't take that the wrong way. Feel free to bitch me out if I am being one.

  3. Heck yeah ignoring the voice! Go you!
    Maybe just take all the pressure off and arrange a bday celeration you feel comfy with. With friends….If family feel the “need” to have a cake and you blow out the canles maybe you can just do the thing and not eat the cake and have your own desert or MAYBE gasp if you want to eat the cake!

  4. That's a great goal! I hope you enjoy your 16th birthday 🙂 Big milestone!

  5. That's the first time I've ever heard that Pink song… I love it! And happy happy birthday, sweetie! You deserve all the happiness in the world! xo

  6. Good luck with your birthday plans! I hope you have a great day and remember, STAY STRONG! You can do it! 🙂

  7. You are beautiful! Keep fighting against ED because he's the one that keeps telling you all those lies about how you're fat. You totally aren't and you just have to keep wanting recovery more then anything. <3

    Maybe for your birthday you could try to do something that gives you an unforgettable experience? For my sisters birthday we went bungee jumping and it was amazing. I'm not saying you need to go bungee jumping too but just something that would give you amazing memories but not be totally centered around food.

  8. Girl, you really can do this… You're beautiful, strong, and confident! I used to REALLY struggle with food (something which I've yet to blog about), but — over the years — I feel that I'm finally over all that. It takes awhile, but there is freedom from the calories, and the fat feelings, and the worries. Just remember, that you are BEAUTIFUL and that you will beat this. 🙂

  9. Happy early 16th! What an exciting birthday!

    I'd say to celebrate it not only for the number, but also for how far you've come within the year!

  10. Happy 16th! I know this will be a better year than last, and it will all start at the celebration! You will do great 🙂

    I believe in you Gabrielle <3

    Scott

  11. Love the February goal! I hope you enjoy a wonderful birthday—you've got a lot to celebrate!

    : )

  12. keep fighting lovely!!

    In addition to STOP the fat talk, I might add to START the love talk. Haha whoa! Cheezy!! But really! list some of the things you are great at! Write down some of the traits you are most proud of!! Get rid of the negative talk, AND replace it with positive statements of your self-worth!!

    I hope your birthday is wonderful!!! 😀

  13. Happy early birthday, beautiful girl! Enjoy a slice of cake this year…or at least some froyo!

  14. Yay for birthdays!!!! 🙂

    Great goal for February! Good luck, girl!

Leave a Reply

